Link functionality not working in translation mode

Use the translation manager to re-purpose content for different languages or audiences

Moderator: Nav

Link functionality not working in translation mode

Postby estrothers@msn.com » Mon Jul 30, 2007 8:06 pm

Hi,

The links in the French lesson (translation lesson) are not working. Specifically, the word links not graphic links.

Can I fix it? Or when will it be fixed.

Thank you,

Elaine
estrothers@msn.com
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 6:10 pm

Text hyperlinks in translated version

Postby Leif » Thu Aug 16, 2007 5:14 pm

Hi Elaine,

This is currently a weakness of the translation panel, though it can be worked around.

The long term answer is that the rich text formatting controls in the translation window will include a hyperlink function.

However, in the meantime, as long as you don't delete the originally generated text when you sync the texts, the hyperlink is retained, and can be re-used (though not changed to a new destination.)

    If you have already lost the original hyperlinked text, then copy your new target text.

    Press the "Sync" button. This will map the original text into the target cell.

    Then paste your copied text into the cell after the original text.

    Cut the text that you want to be hot, and paste it within the old hyperlinked word. Now your desired hyperlinked word will also be hot, but within the old word.

    Trim the letters before and after your desired hot word.

    Then, cut the text that is supposed to precede the hyperlink from your original target text and paste it in front of your new hyperlinked text.

Voila. You have your original hyperlink, with the new text.

It's not the prettiest work-around, but it will get you there until the needed enhancement is added to the system. That new functionality is slated to be included in an early 4th quarter release.
Leif
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:56 pm

translating hyperlinks

Postby Leif » Thu Apr 03, 2008 5:48 pm

This has been resolved in release 3.6.4. You can now translate hyperlinks directly within the translation panel.
Leif
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:56 pm


Return to Translation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php