Show Menu Automatically

Not sure how to classify your post? Post here

Moderator: Leif

Show Menu Automatically

Postby zcohen » Mon May 17, 2010 2:08 pm

On an introduction page, I'd like to display the menu to synchronize with audio instructions for navigating the lesson. Is it possible to control the menu via the Timeline? Or is there another method that would work?

The Master Page is set up with buttons to show the various displays (menu and resources) and PageLoad/PageChange events to hide the displays.

Thanks,
Zoe
zcohen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 7:53 pm

Re: Show Menu Automatically

Postby Nav » Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:12 am

Hi Zoe,
I'm not sure how I missed this, so I apologize for the delayed response, but yes, this is possible. Basically what you'll do is in the timeline show an object. This object can be a shape or text object, and it can be placed off screen. Then, you'll create a new action on that object, when it shows, to fire a global event.

Trigger: Offscreen text object > onShow
Response: Page Controller > fireGlobalEvent "showMenu"

Then you can catch that Global Event on the Master Page, and use that to trigger the menu to show up. For a full explanation on Global Events, please see the help here - http://help.smartbuilder.com/node/208

You might need to set up a second Global Event to re-hide the menu. You'll do this in much the same way. Let me know if anything is unclear!

- Nav
Nav
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 2:58 pm


Return to Miscellaneous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron
Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php