dynamic content

For issues related to understanding the basics, system terminology, and becoming familiar with SmartBuilder

Moderators: Rob Penn, Leif

dynamic content

Postby byrnep » Sun Apr 24, 2011 10:34 am

Hi,

I am only starting out with Smartbuilder. I have experience with Flash AS3. I am making and e-learning course. I would like to incorporate dynamic text fields into the course, so any piece of content can be replaced or edited externally. The reason this is important is because the e-learning course will need regular updates, the updates will be done by somebody with no technical experience.

I have used flash before for calling content from external files, this way the person updating can just change the external .txt file and not have to edit the .fla file and re-export.

Does smartbuilder support dynamic content for this reason?

Thank you

Paula
byrnep

Re: dynamic content

Postby Nav » Mon Apr 25, 2011 3:58 pm

Hi Paula,
There is an XML solution that is similar to what you're describing, but it was designed for use with translated versions. Also XML is probably a more technical method than what you're looking for.

Instead, SmartBuilder can export all its text into a Excel spreadsheet, which can be edited by anyone that has used Microsoft Office. Then you can re-import that text into the SmartBuilder lesson. To learn more about this, please view the Help page here - http://help.smartbuilder.com/node/110