Captivate output file not working well

Working with Media (graphics, audio, video) & other Assets

Moderator: Nav

Captivate output file not working well

Postby tahiya » Mon Apr 02, 2012 10:39 am

I have a quiz that is output in Captivate and placed inside my course. It's not really performing very well. Submit buttons go missing on questions, for one user it simply wouldn't allow him to take the quiz at all. The SWF file works well outside of SB. I'm not sure if it's using pools to pull questions for the quiz. If it is, and I've uploaded all the pool sources with the zipped file, could it create problems anyway? I can create a static quiz, but that's less great, if you know what I mean.
play, play, play
tahiya
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:12 pm

Re: Captivate output file not working well

Postby jmalatino » Mon Apr 02, 2012 11:48 am

Hi Tahiya,

Well my first guess would be that you are using Captivate 5. If so, to integrate that type of content into your SmartBuilder lesson you will need to follow the procedure shown by clicking on the link below. This involves using a SmartBuilder i-frame object to point to your Captivate files that have been uploaded as a package.
http://help.smartbuilder.com/node/564

If you are using Captivate 4 or older you can use the Streaming SWF object. The following link will give information on using that.
http://help.smartbuilder.com/node/150

If these links don't help you to solve this issue feel free to contact us via the Support Chat.
jmalatino
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:03 pm

Re: Captivate output file not working well

Postby tahiya » Mon Apr 02, 2012 2:44 pm

OK, well my boss is cool with my translating the quizzes into SB so the Captivate thing is not that big a deal, although I was using the iFrame object and uploaded the whole package for that. It isn't that it didn't work, it just doesn't quite handle the functionality consistently, which may have more to do with it being captivate than anything else.

Anyway, if I do create my quiz in SB, can I do a random draw from a pool of questions?
play, play, play
tahiya
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:12 pm

Re: Captivate output file not working well

Postby jmalatino » Mon Apr 02, 2012 4:08 pm

Here is a very short video about the most basic way to set up question pooling. If you can give us more specifics about your exact scenario we can provide a more detailed solution.

http://screencast.com/t/sOqltiN2a
jmalatino
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:03 pm

Re: Captivate output file not working well

Postby tahiya » Mon Apr 02, 2012 4:15 pm

woo hoo. thanks. That's perfect
play, play, play
tahiya
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:12 pm


Return to Media & Assets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php